Favorites

Favorite Fantasy Books

 Fantasy books are defined as, Most fantasy uses magic or other supernatural elements as a main plot element, theme, or setting. Magic and magical creatures are common in many of these imaginary worlds.”

Today I’m sharing my favorite fantasy books.

41aQPTCmeVL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

We’ll start at the beginning. The Hobbit, by Tolkien. I first read this in high school for a book report. It was on the list of books approved and I was eager for something new, something that wasn’t all life stories of famous soldiers and government leaders (that’s what it felt like I always had to choose from). I LOVED the Hobbit! It was so easy to imagine this world and all the characters! I’d highly recommend this for teen readers as well as adults!

After reading the Hobbit, naturally, I explored The Lord of the Rings next.

LOTR111

Once again, Tolkien blew me away with his fantastic world-building, his uniquely structured characters, and phenomenal battle scenes! These books became a family favorite for my mom, brother, and me and we quickly snatched up the movies as well. Personally, I’m one of those people who will always say the book was better and I definitely recommend that you read these books before seeing the movies. However, I was greatly impress with how well the movies brought my favorite characters to life. The views, particularly the land of Rohan, the Shire, Rivendell, and Mount Doom were re-created beautifully! Normally, books are thought to transport a reader more strongly than a movie, because the reader uses their own imagination to create a scene (that’s why we often say a book is better, because we’ve already decided what something should look like) these movies, however, do an amazing job of transporting viewers to each place, each point in time, each character’s view.

As you’ve probably noticed from some of my earlier posts, I’m a big fan of Supernatural. The first Supernatural book I read was One Year Gone, which I bought a friend for Christmas and read completely while visiting her dorm during Christmas break. This book is set between seasons 5 & 6 and recounts the events leading up to Dean finding out that Sam is back from Hell and leads right up to discovering that he doesn’t have a soul.

4fb068105b22bfaf4777e981a21afde0

These books have various authors and they all share the theme of being adventures that Sam and Dean have which are not mentioned in the TV series. They are all approved by Supernatural’s creators to make sure the authors stay true to the characters and story line. I’ve read three of these books so far and I love them and I definitely plan to collect more!

Night Terror is the book that I own, in which people’s nightmares are coming to life – even during the day. This takes place shortly after Sam has his soul returned and he is still struggling with his own nightmares of Hell.

Bone Key is a book I rented from a college library. This takes place in season 3, when Dean has mad a deal for his soul in exchange for Sam’s life. Their case takes place in Florida, and Dean takes the case thinking that Florida sounds like a great place to work before he dies.

It’s easy to see how these books work to follow the main storyline while adding in some new cases for fans.

My next favorite goes down in age range, technically. Warrior Cats, by Erin Hunter. These books are written with young readers in mind, about 11 to 14 years old. But I say, if you really like a book, the target audience really isn’t important. Hunter’s books include several series, the first following a young housecat named Rusty, who leaves his home to join the wild cats of Thunder Clan. The series follows his journey from apprentice to clan leader and all the lies and treachery in between. The second series follows the lives of Rusty’s (now Firestar) daughters Leafpaw and Squirrelpaw as they fight to save the clans of the forest.

56df54e42efae45c506a08cf8fb38b0d

I’m currently started on series 3, The Power of Three, which features Firestar’s three grandchildren.

Moving back up the age range, we come to a popular favorite: Harry Potter. I discovered these books a bit later than everyone else, but as with The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, they became an instant favorite with me.

harrypotter

I happened to catch part of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone on TV and that’s when I decided to read the first book. I’ve often said that if I could have any super power, I’d want the power to be able to read a book “for the first time” every time I read it: for everything to be brand new again. But Rowling somehow manages to do that for me in these books. Every time I read, I come across something I’ve never noticed before — some little detail that makes the big picture seem even more clear to me.  That is the fantastic part of Harry Potter that has me coming back again and again. I’ll never outgrow this story.

Another favorite that is probably an obvious choice to a lot of people is The Chronicles of Narnia.

narnia-book-covers

When most people hear Narnia, they most likely think of the first three books which were turned into movies: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Unfortunately, they’re leaving out a LOT of the whole story. I read every one of the books in this series, from the Wardrobe all the way to The Last Battle and they are amazing! If you haven’t read them all, you are missing out! And if you’re waiting for them all to be movies, DON’T. I think we’ve seen the last of them. Don’t wait for someone to attempt to turn these adventures into movies. Read them and go on adventures on your own. You won’t be disappointed.

Finally, the Green Rider Series, by Kristen Britain.

DSC0173

The first time I picked up Green Rider, I was just looking for something different. And did I get it! Kristen’s books are amazing! Including the most complex worlds and fantastic storylines I’ve read since Lord of the Rings, this series had everything you could want in a fantasy book: Elves, horses who communicate telepathically with their riders, forbidden romances, riders with unique abilities, spirit worlds, and so much more! They are hefty paperbacks, crammed full of action and mystery.

So there you have it! My favorite fantasy books! If you have some suggestions of your own, feel free to leave a comment. Thanks for stopping by!

 

Leave a Reply

