Uncategorized

Happy July 4th!

“It’s a farmer cuttin’ hay. It’s a big flag flyin’ in a summer wind over a fallen hero’s grave. It’s a high school prom, it’s a Springsteen song. It’s a welcome home parade. It’s a man on the moon and fireflies in June and kids sellin’ lemonade. It’s cities and farms, it’s open arms, one nation under God. It’s America!”

Happy 4th, everyone! I’d like to share a non-novel post and share what I love about my home country. I’m trying to keep my political opinions out of it and focus on America as a whole; if something bugs you, just move on please. I’d also like to take this time to thank any of you who have defended our country – freedom is not free and as someone who has several friends and family members in the military, I also know that family members give a lot too. Thank you! Hope you all have a safe holiday and remember to take it easy in the traffic!

american-flag-1445147

Freedom is not the right to do what we please, but rather the opportunity to do what is right.

The Heartland is where I was raised. And here is where I see Americans with common sense: raised on faith and love of country. I said the pledge every day in school. We learned the meaning of the flag, how to fold it, what the confederate flag really means.

My little bit of America is farms, barns, cornfields, and hay bales. It’s cows and horses, dirt roads, woods, and lakes. It’s the Great Lakes and the north woods. 4-H, FFA, NRA, and county fairs. It’s driving out to the cemetery on summer evenings to look after the grandparents’ flowers or on Memorial Day to help other folks look after their plots. It’s state and national parks, untouched as God intended. Where I’m from we stand for the anthem, say the pledge, hand over heart, and pray. Not because we agree with everything our leaders do, but because we love our home. Great change never ever comes from the government and comes down. Change begins at home and goes up.


Where the Stars and Stripes and the Eagle Fly

I Pledge My Allegiance

God-Bless-the-USA-printable.jpg

American Child

DSC02798
Home about sunset.

God Bless the USA

HAPPY 4TH, EVERYONE!!

Leave a Reply

