Author Spotlight, Who To Follow

Author Spotlight: Bethany Atazadeh

Welcome back to Author Spotlight!
October’s Author of the Month is Bethany Atazadeh! Bethany is the author of Evalene’s Number, The Confident Corgi, and the sequel to Evalene’s Number: Pearl’s Number!

p_5_XxYb.jpg

Please introduce yourself:
Hi! I’m Bethany and pretty sure I’m best known as a crazy dog lady lol… I am the author of YA dystopian novel Evalene’s Number and the sequel Pearl’s Number, plus I also have a children’s book about my dog Penny: The Confident Corgi.

Tell us about your work, either published or in progress. What is it about and what do you think makes it unique?
Evalene’s Number is about a world where everyone has a Number, tattooed on their neck, which declares their value and place in the world – and when Evalene receives an unexpected Number, she struggles to figure out who she is now. There may or may not be a revolution… you didn’t hear it from me. 😉
Pearl’s Number is a continuation of the series, which was originally a duology, but I’m now considering writing a few more character’s stories… I’m also getting into a fantasy retelling now, because I loved writing the Numbered world so much and can’t get enough of world creation!
And of course, I plan to write more children’s books about my dog Penny, because I’m crazy and love writing in the children’s book world as well.

What keeps you working on this project? Why are you so inspired to create this?
I feel like writing is something I was made to do, and it’s my job to figure out how to do it to the best of my ability. And I love seeing the final product, that’s very inspiring – but I’ve mentioned this in the past, I don’t always feel inspired. Whether I am or not, I keep going, because for me this is a job and I take it seriously enough to show up whether I feel like it or not. It’s always worth it!

What does your social circle and your social media connections mean to you?
I’ve made so many writing friends on social media, and they all have a huge impact on me. First, because non-writers just DON’T get it lol! It feels amazing to be able to share a word count success or a writing frustration with other writers, because they understand completely. Second, the writing community is by far the most encouraging group of people I’ve ever met. I’m the type of person to get easily discouraged, so this is like an energy boost every day to keep me going and keep me excited.

What do you hope to give back to your supporters and fellow creatives?
I hope to return the favor and boost other creatives into feeling excited about their work and motivated to keep going. As writers we don’t see the rewards for a long time, sometimes years even. I remember looking at an author who was where I am today, thinking ‘will I ever get there?’ Now that I am, I want to let people know it’s just as possible for them! The ultimate advice I could ever give is simply don’t give up!!

Is there anything else about yourself or your work that you’d like to share?
Yes! I’m SO excited to say I’m releasing the sequel, Pearl’s Number, this November! By the time this is released, both books in the Number series should be available to order, which is such a crazy thought and I really hope people will enjoy the story! ❤

Why do I follow this author?
Bethany has been such an encouragement to me! I am drawn to people who understand the craft and who create good stories, but what I look for the most are people who are willing to talk with other writers, people who regularly show support to others, and people who are approachable, professional, and kind. Bethany is easily all that!

What do I like about her work in particular?
I found Bethany on YouTube a few months ago, when I was looking for more writers’ videos to follow. What drew me in right away is her attention to details — she gives her main points, but also thinks to point out little things that might come up. I greatly appreciate her professional setting, mannerisms, and easy to follow steps. It’s not easy for me to find YouTube authors to follow — most are teaching over my head or don’t show enough professionalism in their presentation — but Bethany’s videos pulled me in right away and they’ve become an invaluable resource for me!

How did I find this author?
As I mentioned, I found Bethany when I was looking for more YouTube channels to follow, then I located her on Twitter. It can be a long and difficult process to find writers to follow on YouTube (or anywhere), but Bethany is proof that trying is worth the effort.

Where do I follow her?
Twitter
YouTube

Check out Bethany Atazadeh’s YouTube channel and follow her on social media! She’s a great person to get to know — you won’t regret connecting with her!

I want to thank Bethany for agreeing to this interview, and for being an awesome writer buddy!

H_AZyVeL