Uncategorized

Ten Things About Me.

As a new year has started, I realize that I have new followers (thank you!) and some of the followers who have been here from the start might still be asking who I am. So today I’m sharing ten things about myself, because I want you all to have a feel for who you’re following and the kind of person who is writing “Kya.”

I wrote my first  novella in 2011. I wrote a story while working at a summer camp, because two of my friends wanted to be characters. So I wrote a story about the three of us going on a road trip together. It had mystery, romance, danger, and friend-oriented humor. I titled it “True Treasures,” and no, I do not intend to publish it.

I grow a garden every year. Four years ago I started gardening, as most of my old retired 4-H animals had passed and I was looking for something new to do and put care into. Over the years, I’ve planted bell peppers, potatoes, broccoli, tomatoes, flowers, onions, watermelons, and carrots.

I love spring! The smell of rain, fresh-turned dirt, grass. Baby critters and flowers. Warm sun, long walks of exploration. Growing things.

I am a Scorpio. I don’t know about beauty and grace, but I’d punch you in the face if need be. I’m blunt, I say what needs to be said, and no one makes decisions for me. And if someone forces me to defend a loved one, I will rip all hell loose on them. Loyalty runs very deep for me.

I am tall. Six feet to be exact. No, I don’t play sports. No, you won’t talk me into playing sports. No, I won’t date your [whatever relative you have who is tall]. And no, I do not exist to go to stores and grab that whatever off the top shelf for you, random stranger. And don’t even get me started on how that dress that’s “so perfect for you,” would be way too short for me. For tall people, party dresses are nothing but sparkly T-shirts.

Green is my favorite color. Green is the color easiest on the human eyes. It is the color of spring and Ireland (where my family originated).

My spirit animal would be a wolf. I like to hang around with a few close friends, but I am also totally okay with spending time alone. And like a wolf, I will defend my friends with tooth and nail if need be. Nobody pushes the wolf around.

I listen to: mostly country music, plus Nickelback, Coldplay, 3 Doors Down, Maroon 5, and a few other pop/rock artists.

I am a night owl. I’m sure sunrises are awesome. I see a few of them, like when I go fishing or work at an election or get up early to start on a road trip. But I draw my energy from the freedom of night. At about 10pm, a switch flips in my brain and it’s time to be active! That’s when I have most of my physical and creative energy.

 

 

 

1 thought on “Ten Things About Me.”

Leave a comment